Vacation Recovery

Well today had such potential but it turned out to be a completely unorganized, slightly disastrous day.  We just returned from a vacation tour following parts of the Montana Dinosaur Trail, which translates to 1,464.3 miles of driving to visit three dinosaur museums (more on that later).  I was trying to use my son’s enthusiasm from vacation to drive our activities for the day.  So to start it all out we opened one of his gift shop treasures which included six dinosaur toys “fossilized” in clay that you dig out just like a real paleontologist.  Serious question, why give a child flimsy plastic tools for a rock solid brick?  It all looked so fun and easy on the box, but it didn’t work that way.  We were both beyond frustrated fifteen minutes into our adventure (I’m amazed we lasted that long), so I grabbed a hammer and screwdriver and went to town on the dang thing!  Thirty minutes later I had a massive headache, the kitchen was covered with a layer of dust and rock chips, but at least the little guy had six new dinosaur toys.  Long story short by lunch-time we were all cranky and tired – and sadly my Starbucks Caramel Macchiato failed me today.  I had no choice but to declare today “Vacation Recovery Day.”  I’ve never fully understood the saying “I need a vacation from my vacation,” but I came closer to understanding it today.  Our vacation was amazing, but now we are all drained and need to recover.  So, I put a sign up on the door telling all the neighbors kids to stay far away (under the threat of injury) and we headed for a family nap…everyone sleeps, no exceptions!  Nap-time started at noon and my son didn’t wake up until just after five o’clock.  Oops, looks like I ruined any chances of him going to bed on time!  Oh well nothing spells recovery like late night movies, popcorn and pajamas – right?

About Puddlestomper

Life is messy, little boys eat dirt and sometimes bugs too! Join me on my side of perfect as I battle through this wonderful life.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment